Damask and Chrysanthemum Paintings

I love trying out new crafts and seeing the end results of my endeavors. Well about six months ago I purchased a Silhouette Cameo cutting machine. (I chose this machine over other based on the features available, long term cost, and research and reviews. I wasn’t about to spend the $400 a machine like that costs without know what I was getting myself into.) I have used the machine to make a couple of different wall decals, but I had not really used it to cut paper with yet.

So this past weekend I decided to complete a project I had been meaning to do for awhile, but kept putting off. Making canvas paintings for my bedroom. One of my other passions is decorating, and decided I wanted to add a punch of color to our bedroom through paintings that matched our accent pillows. However, I was a little scared of freehand painting a damask and chrysanthemum design (which is what I wanted). Then I remembered my Cameo can cut stencils. Woohoo! I had a plan and I was going for it.

To start I painted each of my 4, 12 x 12 stretched canvas a different color that matched my accent pillows with acrylic paint. I then let them dry overnight so I wouldn’t have to worry about the paint smearing or coming up.

The next morning, I purchased a damask pattern from the online silhouette store and started having the machine cut out varying size damask shapes. I cut them on cardstock which really helped reduce bleed-through of the paint when I started painting.

To get my chrysanthemum stencil, I found an image online and used the Cameo’s trace function to create my own pattern. Have I mentioned how much I LOVE my cameo. Once I had all my stencils cut-out I was ready to position them on my painted canvas and start painting.

Paintings

I let the final results dry overnight to make sure the paint set. I absolutely LOVE the end results and think they go really well with my bed décor and accent pillows. Let me know what you think. Thanks for reading.

