When I was growing up I always wanted a playhouse. But since we could not afford much I never had one. This however didn’t stop me from finding ways to “make” a playhouse or hidden area just my own. I remember stretching bedsheets across the kitchen table and chairs to make my own hideaway where I could pretend play. 

When I had my first daughter in 2010, I knew that I wanted to get her a playhouse when she got older since I had always wanted one. (Definitely a live vicariously through my daughter thought.) Well when we decided to move to Okinawa in 2012, I thought that idea was gone. There weren’t many places to get a playhouse here on island. I thought I would have to forgo my idea until we bought a new television and I saw the super sturdy box it came in. Since we didn’t have any place to store a box, we were just going to toss it out until I thought about using it to make my 2 year old then a house. 

I went to work researching designs online and finally decided on a square shape with 2 windows. With the help of my hubby we cut all the sides, top, and even a window ledge for one window and built the structure using duct tape to bind. I thought that would have been the most difficult and time consuming part of the job, but I was wrong. 



I have a passion for decorating. So I had a brilliant idea to use some of my scrapbooking paper and make “wall paper” for the inside. To make it more complex I used several different corresponding patterns and put them up individually. I made my own mod podge with elmers glue. It took me about a day to paper the whole inside, but I really liked the results. 

The next step for me was to cover the outside. For this I used full size sheets of colored printer paper and glued them down. Once they were dry I covered the entire outside walls and top with clear contact paper to help it last longer. And I have to say it has lasted. I made this in September 2012 and it is still going strong in 2015. My daughter has played in it a ton and so have I. I plan to let my second daughter who was just born in November 2014 play in it also when she is big enough. I will just have to find more foam letters so I can add her name to it also. 



If you are like me and always wanted a playhouse or you just want your kids to have a playhouse, don’t forget you can make your own. If your kids are older they can even help and turn it into a family project.  Thank you for reading and I hope this inspires you to get out and creating. 

