So when I first got my Silhouette cutting machine I wanted to test cut on it before attempting to make the larger wall pieces I have showcased in my previous blogs. I started thinking. What could I test cut that I could actually use. Then an idea struck. I love reading, what better way to personalize my e-reader case than to put a vinyl quote on it. Well I perused the internet for a quote that I loved and decided on this one:

“Anyone who says they have one life to live, must not know how to read a book.”

With the quote chosen I fired up the silhouette software and went to work putting the text, changing the font styles, and shrinking it to size. Once it was ready. I put the vinyl on the cutting mat and told the machine to go. What I had not considered in my choosing of font and size, was how difficult it was going to be to weed the letters out. This process took about 25-30 minutes once the machine finished cutting. As you can see from the image below some letters did not cut all the way through and some lost parts of the letter.

Vinyl1

I did not want to just throw the quote out since I had spent so much time weeding out the letters, but I knew that putting it on the back of my case, which is used daily, would not work. So I had to think. How could I use the quote still but keep it from separating. Put it in a picture frame! I decided to put in onto scrapbook paper and frame it. Although the end result is not perfectly cut letters, I was pleased with the result and decided to share with you all my way of putting to good use a first attempt at crafting.

Vinyl

If you want share with me some of your unique ways of using first crafty attempts.

