babyfood

Have you ever tried making your own baby food? I tried my hand at making some green beans for my 6 month old. After researching all over to determine the best way to do it, I decided to steam the green beans instead of boiling them. Here is what I did.

I started with 2 small bags of fresh green beans from my local Okinawan farmers market. I washed them in cold water first. Cut off each end and remove the string running down the bean. (removing the string is important because if you don’t it can show up in the food. – I learned this the hard way.) Rinse the beans again.

Put the beans in your steamer. I used my new Pampered Chef Steamer that sits right in my 12″ skillet. Steam the beans for at least 15 minutes or until they start to become tender. Once done transfer the steamed beans to your food processor or blender. I put them in my Vitamix. Turn it on and watch as the beans become baby food.

I then separated the green beans into plastic containers to both freeze and refrigerate. The refrigerated beans should last for 3-5 days, and the frozen ones for 1-2 months until defrosted. Since I had not planned to make baby food, I did not have any of the baby food specific containers. Instead I just used some of the glad ware that I use for normal food storage, and that worked great.

I was very happy with the results, and think I might try this again with another veggie. What have you puréed? (Baby food or not.)

Sign up or Follow my blog to receive more Bites with Burger.

