Growing up I always thought sausage gravy and biscuits were so difficult to make. I always thought it was such a treat when I got to order some from our local Bob Evans. However, after getting married and becoming a mom I realized that what I thought was difficult was actually quite easy. 

Honestly the only reason it takes about 20-25 minutes is because of the biscuits. Now I will start this off by saying, I don’t make biscuits from scratch. (Well at least not regularly.) instead I purchase ready to bake biscuits. My biscuit of choice are the pillsbury Grands with flaky layers, but you choose whatever you like the best.

I start by preheating the oven and putting the biscuits in for the time and temperature calls. 

  
Next is the fun part. Start by browning 1 lb of sausage. I use the jimmy dean regular brand that comes in a roll. Make sure you break it up into small pieces. I use my pampered chef mix n chop to accomplish this quick and easy. 

  
Once the meat is browned and you have drained out the excess grease, you are ready to add in the flour and milk.  I start with 1 cup of flour to about half a cup of milk. 

  
Since I like to eyeball my gravy, you might need to add in more milk or flour to get it to the thick gravy consistenty you are looking for. Some recipes call for you to add in butter, but honestly I feel there is enough fat leftover from the meat and it doesn’t really need more. Just add some salt and pepper to taste. 

  
Once you have a good consistency you can turn your burner down to simmer until the biscuits aw done. Just make sure to stir it occasionally to keep it from burning. 

  
Once the biscuits are done, pull them out of the oven, split them in half, and top with gravy.

  
You will then have a delicious breakfast of sausage gravy and biscuits. What are your favorite things to eat for breakfast?

Ingredients:

1 lb sausage

1 cup flour

1/2 cup milk

1 can ready to bake biscuits

Sign up for emails or follow my blog to get more Bites with Burger.

