When I was pregnant last fall I had an overwhelming urge to do something productive while still resting. I had always loved the knitted hats, but crocheting was never really my thing. I made one blanket when I was younger and it was an interesting creation that hand more of a curved ungangly edge instead of straight like it was supposed to be. I started looking up how to make hat online and came across a great channel on YouTube that gave a great step-by-step video on how to create a hat. 

Instead of walking though the steps here in my blog, I want to show you a couple of the hats I was able to create and share with you a link to one of the videos I found the most helpful. Hopefully if you are like me and want to try to make a crochet hat too, you can. The channel is HappyBerry. HappyBerry

The first hat I made was the newborn hat below. Unfortunately it was too small for my newborns head when she was born, but my 4 year old loves using it on her baby doll. 

  
I also found a basic flower tutorial through the same channel and layered two sizes in complementing colors.

Since I didn’t want my 4 year old to get jealous of her new sister getting a hat made by mommy, I let her pick what colors she wanted and used the 3-10 year old tutorial I linked to to create the hat you see her modeling below. She loved it. 

  
I made several more hats, but another one of my favorites I will share is another one I made for my 4 year old. She loves the color yellow and loved the one below.

 
The last hat I will share for now is a pumpkin hat I made using the same style of the beanie hat,bathe only difference was I added a stem and leaf.

  
I was really happy with all my hats. Have you made a crochet hat? Share your experience in a comment below. 

Sign up or follow my blog to get more Being Crafty ideas. 

