In keeping with my post last week about potato side dishes, I felt it only fitting to make one about the Okinawa Purple Sweet Potato, aka Benimo. I must first start by saying I love sweet potatoes, so finding a way to make Benimo without changing the flavors too much was a must.

I decided to go simple and dice and roast them. The Benimo I used is actually grown and sold by a local farmer that is only a block or two from my house. This definitely doesn’t keep me from eating carbs, but instead makes it even easier. They are worth it though. 

The Benimo are sold in a bag for about 200 yen. They are pretty small so I used 8 of them for the three eaters in my house. 

 
I peeled and cut the Benimo into chunks to help them cook faster in the oven.

  
I made sure to remove the tops and bottoms. Don’t you just love the bright purple color?

Well next I spread the peices out on my pampered chef medium bar pan stoneware. 

 
I topped the potatoes with 1 tbsp of grape seed oil, 1 tsp sea salt, and 1/2 tsp sweet pepper flakes. I mixed it all up right on the pan to make sure the Benimo were evenly coated. 

Then I popped them into a preheated 400 degree oven for 20 minutes. I did make sure to stir them once about halfway through.

  

The end result was a delicious sweet and salty creation that is making my mouth water just thinking about it.

It is a prefect side to steak. I paired it with a Mole Steak (details coming in a later post).

  

Another twist if you like avocados is the dice some avocado and mix it with the roasted sweet potatoes. It ends up adding a creamy texture to the dish. 

  
Have you ever cooked with Okinawa Purple Sweet Potatoes (Benimo)? If so leave a comment and let me know what you made.

Ingredients:

8 – small Okinawa purple sweet potatoes

1 – tbsp grape seed oil

1 – tsp sea salt

1/2 – tsp sweet pepper flakes

1 – avocado diced (optional)

Sign up or follow my blog to get more Bites with Burger. 

 

