So I saw recently on a food website a recipe for a Lemon Dream Cake and that got my creative juices flowing. I loved the idea they had of using lemon pudding and having it on the bottom of the cake. I decided to modify the cake and make my own version, which was a HUGE success at the BBQ that I took it to. 

I started with a box Lemon Cake Mix and all the ingredients needed for it. I did add in a 1/2 tsp of almond extra to add a little more depth of flavor.

  
I mixed the cake mix and placed it in a foil 13X9 pan. I did a foil one because I did not want to have to worry about getting my dish back.

Next I took the lemon pudding and spooned it on top of the cake mixture.

  
To help it more evenly distribute during baking I took a knife and cut across it. The lemon pudding will fall to the bottom durin baking and give you a gooey lemon bottom. 

  
Bake the cake according to the box directions. The end result comes out looking like this. 

  
You will want to let the cake cool completely before the next step.

Next mix or fold together the lemon frosting and half (if you get the large container – whole thing if you get the normal one) of the cool whip.  

 
Next spread the icing mixture on top of the cake evenly. 

  
My final touch for the cake was to top it with chopped walnuts to add a little crunch. 

  
The end result was a gooey lemony delight that everyone enjoyed. 

   
 
Do you have a favorite desert that uses a cake mix? Share in a comment and tell me all about it.

Ingredients:

1 Lemon cake mix

1 container Lemon frosting

1/2 tsp almond extract

Eggs, water, oil according to box directions

1 – 15oz can lemon pudding

1 – small container Cool Whip

1/2 – 2/3 cup chopped walnuts

Sign up or follow my blog to get more Bites with Burger. 

