Growing up nothing was as good as sloppy Joe night in my house. I mean it was easy, brown a pound of ground beef add the sloppy joe sauce mix from the can and voila dinner was done. Well I like sloppy joes, but I wanted to do a little more than just open a can. I wanted to be creative and try my hand at making my own sloppy joe sauce. After scouring the Internet and recipes I came up with what I think is a pretty good recipe. Although it was a bit of a struggle to get my picky 4 year old to eat it because it had onions and peppers in it, it was yummy. 

I actually had all the ingredients I needed right in my pantry and fridge, which made it quicker and easier than I expected. 

 Technically you are supposed to use a tomato purée or paste, but all I had was marinara sauce and it worked great. 

You start first by browning a pound of ground beef or turkey. One the meat is cooked drain out any excess fat. While the meat is cooking, dice up 1 large onion and 2 medium to small bell peppers. You will add these to the meat mixture after it is drained. Cook for about 2-3 minutes until the onions start to become translucent. 

Next is the easiest and most creative part. Start adding stuff to the pot. I Started with 1/2 cup marinara sauce, 1/2 cup BBQ sauce, 1/4 cup ketchup, 1 tbsp minced garlic, 2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce, 1tbsp apple cider vinegar, and just for an extra kick 1/2 tbsp spicey brown mustard. I brought it to a bubble then let it simmer for 3-4 minutes. You can cook it longer if you want a thicker slop with your joe. 

  
Next just put it on a bun and either top with cheese (this is how I like it) or eat it plain (that is my husbands preference) and enjoy! 

   
 
Have you made your own sloppy joes before? Leave me a comment and tell me about your recipe. 

Ingredients:

1lb ground beef or turkey

1 onion medium sized

2 small or medium bell peppers

1/2 marinara sauce

1/2 BBQ sauce

1/4 ketchup

1 tbsp minced garlic

2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce

2 tbsp apple cider vinegar

1/2 tbsp spicey brown mustard
Sign up or follow my blog to get more Bites with Burger. 

