Growing up half Cuban I have a weakness for Cuban sandwiches.  If I see one on a menu I can’t stop myself from ordering it and seeing if it even comes close to the authentic thing you can get in Miami. Most of the time the attempts are decent, but fall somewhat short. Well a couple of weeks ago I came across a Cuban Burger at a restaurant and had to try it. But instead of having all the normal ingredients of a classic Cuban sandwich it was basically a hamburger topped with ham and Swiss cheese. Eating it I kept thinking I could probably come up with and make a better Cuban Burger. 

I started with pork chops (boneless) that I put through my meat grinder. I know a key element of a good Cuban sandwich is roast pork, so I decided to mak my own pork pattie to bring in that flavor profile. 

   If you haven’t used a meat grinder before and think it is too difficult, I am hear to tell you it isn’t. I cut each chop in half and just ran it through the grinder part. What came out could rival ground pork from a butcher shop.

   
 
To the ground pork (about 1 lb) I added about 1/2 lb ground beef, and 1.5 tsp of adobo seasoning.

  
I then mixed it all together with my hands and formed burger patties.

  

 Now I made the patties ahead of time and refrigerated them overnight, but you can make and cook them right away. To cook them I preheated an oven to 375 degrees. While that preheated I seared each burger on the stove top (about 2 minutes on each side over medium heat). 

  
I then finished the meat off in the preheated oven until the internal temperature reached 160 degrees. This took about 15-20 minutes for me, but the time may vary for you. Here is where a good meat thermometer is your best friend.

  
While the meat is cooking you can start working on the rest of the burger. A traditional Cuban sandwich is roast pork, ham, Swiss cheese, mustard, and pickles on Cuban bread that is pressed together. 

  
Instead of Cuban bread (which I have made from scratch before and is pretty labor intensive and takes days), I purchased already made kaiser rolls. 

Using a square skillet as my pressing medium, I buttered the outside of the bottom bun. The butter will help to crisp up the outside when you press the sandwich and give you a crispy buttery crust. I then placed the ham (about 2 slices) and pickles on the bun. 

  
Next I prepared the top bun. I slathered yellow mustard on it and placed Swiss cheese as the next layer.

  
Once the burger patties were ready the final fun begins. Place the burger patties on top of the bottom half (ham and pickles). Place the top bun on top of th burger pattie and top with a spread of butter.

  
Place your grill press on top. I used my pampered chef grill press which is pretty heavy and will let everything squish together. 

   

 I cooked it over medium heat until the bun got crispy, about 5-8 minutes. I did flip the burger halfway through to let it crisp on both sides. I did put a little elbow grease into the process and pushed the grill press to flatten the burger some.

  
Served with your favorite side of French fries this makes a great lunch or dinner and brings a little Cuban flavor to your table. My husband said this was one of the best burgers he had ever had. Have you created your own burger recipe in the past? Leave a comment and share what you did. 

  
Ingredients:

1lb pork chop

1/2 lb ground beef

1.5 tsp Adobo seasoning

Sliced ham

Swiss cheese

Dill pickles

Yellow mustard

Kaiser hamburger buns

Sign up or follow my blog to get more Bites with Burger. 

