I love perfectly portioned eggs. I think I fell in love with the idea when I made my baked French eggs. So I wanted to find another variation of a baked egg that was more appealing to a meat eater. 

I decided to make what I am calling a southwest baked egg. I planned to use sausage, eggs, onion, green pepper, and cheese.

  
To make it easier I opted to cook my ground sausage in the microwave. This was easy for me since I have the pampered chef large microwave steamer. Actually this is great for cooking meat in since it has drain holes on the top which are great for draining out the grease.

  
I cooked the sausage for 2.5 minutes on high, pulled it out ground it up with my pampered chef mix and chop, and cooked it for another 2.5 minutes. 

  
While the sausage cooks, I minced up my onion and green pepper in my pampered chef manual food processor. The nice thing about the processor is you can keep the veggies larger, but the end result is perfectly minced veggies.

   

Once the veggies are ready you can start assembling your eggs.

Start by lightly spraying your pan with oil. I love the square shape of my pampered chef brownie pan, so that is what I used.

  
I put a layer of cooked ground sausage on the bottom, about 1.5 tbsp. 

  
Next put a layer of the onion and green pepper mixture. I used 1 Tsbp. (Since my 4 year old doesn’t like “green stuff” I left that out of 3 of the portions.)
  Next crack 1 egg into each section. Top with salt and pepper.

  Finally top with shredded cheddar cheese. 

 Place it in a 375 preheated oven to bake for 20 minutes. The result will be a firm fully cooked egg, if you want it runnier use less time.

 
The end result is an individual egg that is prefect for a weekend breakfast or to make ahead and eat as a breakfast on the go during the week.

  
I served mine with my Nutella cinnamon rolls and it was a great hit. Do you have a favorite baked egg recipe? Share your experience below.

  
Ingredients:

1 lb ground sausage

12 medium eggs

1 onion

2-3 small green peppers

Shredded cheddar cheese

Salt and Pepper to taste.

Sign up or follow my blog to get more Bites with Burger

 

