While looking through my pantry to decide what to make for breakfast for my family I came across a white cake mix box with just half the mix left and some homemade Apple Cranberry Jam my oldest sister made and sent to me. Seeing these two things I got an idea to make muffins for breakfast. However, I did not want to just go with the normal ingredients. I had had a conversation with some girlfriends recently where they suggested using plain Greek yogurt when making macaroni and cheese in lue of the milk and butter. So I decided to be a little creative and use Vanilla Greek yogurt instead of the suggested oil. I figured this would make it less fatty and more pacted with protein. I also opted to use milk instead of the water called for on the back of the box.

 
 I started with 2 large eggs and mixed in 1/2 cup of milk. I then added the half a box of white cake mix or about 8 oz if you measure it out. Once that was blended I added in 1/3 cup of Greek vanilla yogurt. 

  
I could have stopped right here if I just wanted vanilla cupcakes or muffins, but I decided to add a little texture or crunch to the muffin. I took 1/3 cup of both chopped walnuts and crasines and added them to my manual food processor.

  
I processed for about 1 minute until they were blended nicely. 

  
I then added them to my batter and mixed it. Next using my small pampered chef scoop I put one scoop of batter into each well if my mini tart pan. (I decided I wanted mini muffins instead of larger ones. They make great bite size snacks for kids.) 

  
For a few of the muffins I spooned a little of the homemade Apple Cranberry Jam my sister makes on top. The jam is amazing on everything and I thought why not try it on a mini muffin.

  
Next I placed the muffins in a preheated 350 degree oven for 14 minutes. 

  
The muffins came out smelling and tasting amazing. 

 
One trick I have learned for helping to get the baked muffins out of the pan is to use a spoon and run it around the outside. It will loosen and remove it without gouging it.

  
I let the muffins cool on a rack for about 5-10 minutes.

  
They went great with scrambled eggs and bacon or they could go well just by themselves as a snack. 

  
Do you have a creative spin on breakfast muffins using cake mixes? If so leave a comment and tell me about it.

Ingredients:

1/2 white cake mix or 8oz

2 large eggs

1/2 cup milk

1/3 cup Greek vanilla yogurt

1/3 cup chopped walnut

1/3 cup crasines 

Homemade Jam

  
Sign up or follow my blog to get more Bites with Burger. 

