Living on Okinawa I am privileged to be able to get my hands easily on the okinawan purple sweet potatoes, or benimo as the locals call it. So I have decided to try my hand at making and sharing different ways to use and cook them. 

Since I recently received my new Pampered Chef Veggie Strip Maker I wanted to use it to try making sweet potato cakes. I started with about 7 small purple sweet potatoes that I peeled. 

 
Then using my stop maker, pictured here on top of my stainless mixing bowl, I shredded each of the sweet potatoes.

 Once the potatoes were all shredded I added to them 1 beaten egg, 3 tbsp of flour, and salt and pepper taste. 
  
I thoroughly mixed it while heating some grape seed oil in my skillet. I didn’t measure the oil, but just used enough for a light coating of the bottom of the pan. 

  
I then formed the potato mixture into patties and gently added them to the hot oil. I used a fork to lay them down to avoid getting burned. 

  
I cooked them on medium heat (covered to avoid splattering) for about 3-4 minutes on each side or until they start to crisp.

  
They went great with our dinner of Bratwurst and roasted squash. I loved that I could provide a healthier alternative to French fries. 

  
Have you cooked with purple sweet potatoes? If so leave me a comment and share what you did. 

Ingredients:

7 small purple sweet potatoes

1 large egg beaten

3 tbsp flour

Salt and pepper to taste

Grape seed oil
Sign up or follow my blog to get more Bites with Burger.