It took me awhile to realize that decorating pumpkins didn’t mean that I needed to carve them. I think I came more to this realization after I started painting and letting my daughter paint pumpkins when she was smaller since carving wasn’t really an option. So this year I decided to challenge myself by painting a more “decor” style pumpkin that you would see in an interior design style magazine.

I started with a small Okinawa pumpkin. (American style pumpkins are hard to come by when living overseas.)


I spray painted the entire thing with an off white spray paint and let it set overnight.


While it dried I used the time to try and figure out what design I wanted to go with. There are so many ideas out there that I was a little overwhelmed. I decided to go for a monogram with a leaf pattern. Please excuse my rough sketch but this is what I used as my guide.

Once the pumpkin was dry, I could start painting. Since I wanted a fall theme for the pumpkin I decided to use fall theme colors in acrylic paint.


I started by freehand painting the “B” on the front with the dark brown color.


Once the basic B was finished I added on leaf embellishments to the two ends.


Then came the next fun part of painting more leaves all around the pumpkin in a variety of colors.


I eyeballed where to place them and just painted.


I made sure to only really use 5 colors max, because I didn’t want it to be too crowded.


I also put two coats of the paint on each leaf to give it a smooth look. Finally I painted the stump of the pumpkin in the dark brown color to add a little more pop.


I was really happy with the end result and now know that in addition to carving pumpkins for Halloween, I can paint some fall theme pumpkins for Thanksgiving.


Have you painted pumpkins before? If so leave a comment and share what you did.

Sign up or Follow my blog to continue Being Crafty.

