I have heard for years about people making their own Christmas ornaments. I hadn’t put much thought into it because I really enjoyed going out and finding beautiful and unique ornaments. (Which is a little more difficult living overseas.) However, after having both my girls I wanted to find a way to do something fun at Christmas that they could help with. 

I started looking up ideas and came across a simple salt dough ornament recipe. (1 cup flour, 1/2 cup salt, 1/2 cup water mixed and after making your ornament bake for 2-3 hours at 250 degrees.) 

We started by preheating the oven and mixing the dough. Once the dough was mixed we rolled it out and cut out shapes. We used a variety of cookie cutters from a heart, candy cane, butterfly, yoda (We love Star Wars), and my two favorite plain round cuts that we placed my two daughters hand prints into. I loved the idea of having their hand prints encapsulated for Christmases to come. I placed them on a wax paper lined cookie sheet and baked for 2.5 hours at 250 degrees. Before baking the ornaments I used a straw to put a hole to attach a string.

  
Once baked we had fun painting each ornament with acrylic paint. My four year old got to decide what colors we used and helped to paint them. 

  
We loved the end result and plan to make it a yearly tradition. I might also suggest that these would make great grandparent gifts. Actually I might do that this year, please act surprised if you get one. Have you made a salt dough ornament, if so leave me a comment and tell me about it.

Signup or follow my blog to continue Being Crafty. 

 

