If you are like me and have little ones at home then birthdays each year mean cakes. I could just order something, but since I like to be crafty and creative, each year I have challenged myself to make it myself. Over the next couple of weeks I will share with you the different birthday cakes I have made over the past few years. I will end with my most recent ones made this Past November. (Have I mentioned both my girls are November girls. – It makes for a VERY cake filled month.) 

Even though I now live overseas, when my first daughter was born we lived in Ohio. So for her first birthday it was a big event that included all our family and friends. At the time, cupcake wars was just getting really popular on television and I decided to try and make a giant cupcake.

I found a Wilton pan on Amazon that looked like it would fit the bill.

  
I followed the directions that came with the pan and opted for making a white cake. Since I really wanted to make it look like a cupcake I decided to use scrapbook paper as the “cupcake liner.” I used a little icing around the cake bottom as glue to hold the paper on. 

I then found large round candies that came in a variety of colors. I can’t exactly remember what they were called, but they were similar to spree or smarties. Since we would have a lot of people coming I also made about 2 dozen cupcakes that I decorated the same way. 

  
The end result was a huge hit and all the guests loved it.

  
My daughter loved blowing out her candle and really enjoyed her own cupcake.

   
   
Have you made a first birthday cake? Leave a comment below and share with me what you made.

Sign up or follow my blog to get more Bites with Burgers.

