I know this is a little after Christmas, but I wanted to still share this will you in case you want to make one for next year. The idea came about after looking for kid crafts I could make with my two girls and use as grandparent gifts. When looking online I came across several thumb print ideas, and that got my creative juices flowing. 

I decided to combine a thumbprint with a salt dough ornament. I started with the basic salt dough recipe, now keep in mind I just wanted a few ornaments so I 1/4th the normal recipe.

1 cup flour

1/4 cup salt

1/3 cup water 

    
Once it was all mixed I rolled it out on my pastry mat.

    
I then used holiday leaf cookie cutters and cut out several leaves. The next step was to have each girl press her thumbprint into the leaf. Then I used a straw to punch a hole in the top. Once that was done I baked them at 300 degrees for 30 mins. 

  
Once they were cool I went to work painting them with acrylic paints.

   
   
I opted to paint the thumbprints red to make them look like berries. 

  
I added a ribbon to each as the finishing touch. I loved the end results and so did all the family we sent them to.

Signup or follow my blog to continue Being Crafty. 

