I recently decided to try my hand at make ahead  meal prep, in addition to dinners I wanted to find an easy lunch meal I could make ahead and possibly freeze for future use. I decided to try making burritos. 

I started with black beans and canned chicken. 

  
I also wanted to add a healthier element so I roasted in the oven some cauliflower and broccoli (something new I learned is you can roast frozen vegetables and they turn out great). Just open the bag put on a cooking sheet and cook in a 425 degree preheated oven for 25-30 minutes. You will want to turn them halfway through. 

  
While the broccoli and califlower roast, prepping the rest of the ingredients is easy. 

I added together 1-1 1/2 cup cooked white rice with 1 can of black beans, 1 can of chicken, about 3/4 cup of shredded cheddar cheese. 

  
When the veggies were done I added them to the mixture also. 

  
Next came the fun part of making the burritos. I put filling on a burrito size tortilla shell and wrapped it.

  
I wrapped the burritos individually in either wax paper or Saran Wrap. 

  
The end result was enough burritos to feed both my husband and myself for about two weeks. I left out one week in the fridge and put the other week in the freezer.

  
They ended up saving us a lot of time and turned out good. 

Have you made a plan ahead lunch meal? If so leave a comment with what you did.

Sign up or follow my blog to get more Bites with Burger. 

