In following with my idea that bacon makes everything better, I decided to try a variation to green bean casserole that includes bacon.

Since my whole family would be eating it I wanted it to be less “creamy” and more green bean like so I made a modified version that also did not use mushroom soup since my youngest would be eating it and she hadn’t taken to mushrooms yet.

  
Ingredients:

3 cans green beans

1 lb bacon cooked and chopped

1 can cream of celery soup

1/2 cup milk

1 1/2 cups fried onions

To start I precooked a whole package of bacon. Once it was cool I chopped it into smaller peices.

  
I then drained the green beans and mixed them with the cream of celery soup and milk. I added in the bacon peices and about 1/2 cup of the onions. I transferred it to the baking dish then topped it with the remaining onions.

I baked it at 350 for 40 minutes. The end result was amazing and such a hot that it was devoured so quickly I forgot to snap a photo of the end result. I at least remembered to take a photo of it on my plate.

  
Have you modified a classic recipe? If so leave a comment and share what you did.

Signup or follow my blog to get more Bites with Burger.

