Breakfast is probably one of my favorite meals of the day so I am always looking for ways to spruce it up or make it more enjoyable. A couple of years ago I purchased a meat grinder attachment to my Kitchenaid stand mixer. Remembering I had this got me thinking about trying to make my own Breakfast Sausage. 

I decided for my first attempt I would stick with just one type of meat, so I started with boneless pork chops. I opted for a family size pack and decided to make a double batch. One for patties and one for sausage gravy.

  
I cut the chops into strips for easier feeding through the attachment.

  
Once the grinder attachment was a fixed to my mixer I went to work.

   
 
I feed the meat through until I had it all ground and into my bowl.

  
Next I mixed in seasoning to spice up the sausage.

  
I added the following:

1/4 cup maple syrup

1 tsp maple herb rub

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp black pepper

1 tsp salt

This went with about 1.5 lbs of ground meat.

  
I hand mixed it together.

  
Next I split the mixture in half and made 6 patties and put the rest into a container to use with sausage gravy.

  
I then went to work baking the patties at 400 degrees for approximately 20 minutes, flipping the patties at 10 minutes. 

  
The end results were delicious and a hit with my girls and hubby. 

  
Have you made your own breakfast meat? If so leave a comment and share what you did.

  
Signup or follow my blog to get more Bites with Burger.

