While living in Japan for the past 4 years we were fortunate to be able to introduce our daughters to amazing animated movies like My Neighbor Totoro. Well doing this caused our youngest to have the movie and Totoro character became her favorite. So when I was perusing etsy one day and came across cookie cutters made to look like Totoro, I just could not resist. If you are interested in purchasing the same ones I used here is a link to the shop and one of their cookie cutters. They had 3 options when I purchased them. Totoro cookie cutter

This is what mine looked like when they arrived. 


The cutters came with a sugar cookie recipe the seller recommends using. I started with theirs but of course modified it some.

Ingredients:

6 cups flour

1 Tbsp baking powder

2 cups butter

2 cups white sugar

2 large eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 tsp almond extract or orange extract

1 tsp salt

I mixed all the dry ingredients first then added in the liquids. I melted the butter before adding. Once the dough was fully mixed I rolled it out on my pastry mat then put to work my daughters to cut out the cookies. 


Only one really got to help, but the other tried.


Even though the cookies really didn’t need decorations we could not resist adding sprinkles.


We baked the cookies at 350 for 8-10 minutes or until they started to brown.


The end results were not only adorable, but oh so tasty! And they are great anytime of the year. 


Have you made special character cookies? If so leave a comment and share what you did.
Signup or follow my blog to get more Bites with Burger. 

