For years I have been buying and using taco seasoning mixes, but I always wondered if I could make my own. Since we needed to use up our pantry of items, do to our move, I decided to try my hand at making my own. Now this is my version (I go a little more mild because of having 2 younger daughters).

Luckily I had all the spices already in my pantry.

Ingredients:

1 TBsp chili powder

1/2 Tsp garlic powder

1/2 Tsp onion powder

1/4 tsp dried oregano

1 tsp paprika

1 TBsp cumin

1 tsp salt 

1/2 tsp black pepper

Some recipes I saw called for red pepper flakes and cayenne pepper, and if you want more of a kick go ahead and add some. I would keep it minimal though unless you really like heat and spice. The ingredients above are for approximately 1 lb of meat. I like to mix spices in a mason jar for easy storage.


Once the spices are all in the jar I normally put on the lid and shake a little to make it even.


When ready I just add it to 1 lb of browned ground meat.


I add in 1 cup of water to the meat and spices and let it simmer to mix. If it is too thick for you, just add 1/4 cup of water until you have the consistency you want. 

Lastly just add your favorite tortilla and taco topping and enjoy! 


Have you make your own seasoning mix? If so leave a comment and share what you did.

Signup or follow my blog to get more Bites with Burger.

