Growing up I always thought making biscuits from scratch was really hard, and it can be. That is why for years I have been buying and eating canned biscuits that all I have to do is bake. 

Well I decided recently to try my hand at baking more breads, and I thought the first step was biscuits. I searched the Internet for a good recipe and after trying a few m, I came up with my recipe that I love.

Ingredients:

2 1/4 cups flour

1 1/4 Tbsp baking powder

1 Tbsp sugar

1 Tsp salt

1/3 cup butter (I like it melted)

1 cup milk

I mix all the ingredients together and when fully mixed I place the ball of dough on my floured pastry mat.


Flour will be your friend during this next part to keep the dough from sticking too much. 

You will then knead the dough about 15-20 times. Basically folding it over and pushing it down. I find adding flour at each fold over helps to reduce sticking.

Once done, I used my rolling pin to roll out the dough to about 1/2 inch and cut out biscuits with my biscuit cutter. I like large biscuits, but you can make them any size. At this point you can swipe the tops with a little butter, or just bake them as is. This time I opted for no butter, but buttered tops are also really good.


I then baked them at 425 degrees for approximately 15 minutes. You will want the tops to show a slight golden brown color. 


The end results were really tasty and the whole process took me no more than about 20 minutes. Now I can proudly say I know how to make homemade biscuits and I may not purchased canned biscuits again.


Have you made homemade biscuits? What did you do, share in the comments.

Signup or follow my blog to get more Bites with Burger. 

