In continuing with my desire to start baking more breads myself I decided to try my hand at making soft pretzels. I searched online for recipes, but ultimately developed my own recipe – mainly I wanted a wheat variation.

My ingredients are as follows:

1 cup milk

3 tsp active dry yeast

3 Tbsp sugar

1 1/2 cup wheat flour

1 cup flour

2/3 cup butter

1 tsp salt

I started by heating the milk in a sauce pan until it had a soft boil then removed it and mixed in the yeast and sugar. I let it sit for 2-3 minutes, then I started adding in the flour, butter and other ingredients. Once mixed I kneaded the dough for about 4 minutes on my baking mat that was covered in flour.  I left the dough to sit for an hour to rise.

Once the hour was up I rolled out the dough and cut strips.


I then stretched and rolled each cut section into long strips.


I then took each strip and twisted and rolled them into a pretzel shape.


I then pressed the two top ends back into the bottom section to make sure it was secure.


I placed them all on my stoneware pan.


To add a topping I took 1 egg white and brushed it on top of the unbaked pretzels.


I then sprinkled the tops with sea salt.


Finally I baked them in a 450 degree preheated oven for 10-12 minutes or until the tops started to golden.


The end result was a yummy Wheat variation of soft pretzels.


Have you made your own soft pretzels? If so leave a comment and share what you did.

Signup or follow my blog to get more Bites with Burger.

