Donuts are amazing. The downfall is because of all the grease they are made it they aren’t the healthiest and they have a tendency to cause stomach issues for me. So that got me thinking – could I “bake” donut holes and they still be good?

I accepted the challenge and went to work. I started by mixing together the donut batter.

ingredients:

2 eggs

1 cup milk

2 cups flour

1/2 stick butter (melted)

2 Tbsp white sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp almond extract

4 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt


I mixed until smooth.

I then scooped the batter in to my mini muffin pan.


It is the perfect size to make donut holes.

I baked them in a 350 degree oven for 10-12 minutes. You want the tops to just start to turn golden.


While they baked and cooled I made a simple glaze.

Glaze ingredients: 

2 cups powdered sugar

Approximately 4 Tbsp milk ( you want just enough to smooth the sugar)

1 tsp vanilla extract

Mix thoroughly.

I set the donut holes on my cooling rack and drizzled the glaze on top.


I let them cool before storing, but we didn eat almost all of them before it got to that. They were delicious and healthier than fried.

Have you tried making “healthier” donuts? If so leave a comment and share what you did.

Signup or follow my blog to get more Bites with Burger.

