I was sitting around with extra French baguettes trying to decide what to do with them, aside from just eating them plain, when I thought about trying to make “French” toast from them. The bread slices were too small to do Indigirka French toast so I thought about a casserole. 

I started by slicing up the two rolls I had.


I then layered them in my baking dish.


Next I went to work mixing my egg batter.

I started with 7 eggs.


Then added in the other ingredients.


1 tsp of ground cinnamon.


Then 2 tsp vanilla extract, 1/2 cup of milk, and 1/2 tsp of salt.


I mixed it all thoroughly.


I then poured the mixture on top of the bread slices.


I didn’t want to just stop there so I put together a topping.

I mixed 1 cup brown sugar with 1 tsp ground cinnamon, 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. 


I then added to the mixture 1/2 cup melted butter.


I mixed thoroughly.


I then sprinkled the topping mixture on top of the bread and egg mixture.


I baked the dish at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes. The end result was a hit with my family and super tasty.


Have you made baked French toast? If so leave a comment and share what you did. 


Sign up or follow my blog to get more Bites with Burger.

