In going along with my desires to learn how to make my own breads and such I decided to try my hand at English Muffins. Sadly I lost the photos I took of the process, but I can describe what I did and show the last two pictures. 


Surprising making homemade English Muffins are not the difficult. The most difficult part is waiting for them to rise. 

Start by heating 1 cup of milk In a saucepan until starts to bubble. Remove from heat and mix in 2.5 TBSP of white sugar. In a separate bowl mix 1 cup of warm water with 1 package of active yeast. Stir and let that sit for about 10 minutes. Then mix together the milk, yeast mixture, 1/4 cup melted shortening and 3 cups of flour. Mix until smooth then add in 1 TSP of salt and about 2.5-3 cups more of flour. Mix well, once smooth knead dough. Place into bowl cover and set aside for 40 mins. 

Punch down the dough. Rough out and cut Muffins. I used the largest biscuit cutter I have in my set and that seems to work the best. 

Most people sprinkle the outsides of the Muffins with cornmeal, but when I made them I did not have any so I just dusted the outsides with flour. 

I placed the Muffins on my baking sheets and let rise for about 30-50 mins.


For cooking. This is the fun part. You actually cook or bake them on a griddle and not in the oven. You want to cook them over medium heat for approximately 10 minutes per side. 


The end result was a delicious homemade English muffin, that is easy to freeze for later use. 

Have you made English muffins before? If so leave a comment and share what you did. 

Signup or follow my blog to get more Bites with Burger.

