After leaving Okinawa one of the things we started missing were all the side condiments like pickled daikons. So I decided to try my hand. Here is what I did. 

I started with one and a half white daikon. 


I peeled it and then ran it through my slicer to get disc shaped slices.


I then placed the slices into a bowl with 1 TBSP of salt.


 I then let it sit for 2 hours to help the water from the daikon leach out. 


A surprising amount of water comes out of the daikon. To get the extra water from the slices I wrapped them in paper towels and squeezed out the extra water.


I then placed the slices in a large mason jar and added the following liquids.

To get the sugar dissolved mix the liquids over medium heat until dissolved. Let cool before adding to the jar. 

1 cup water

1 cup rice vinegar

1 cup sugar. 


If you need more liquid to cover the daikon then make sure you increase in equal parts.  


You can also do what I did and use something to weigh down the daikon to make sure it is submerged. 


Keep it in the fridge for at least 2 days before eating. The end result is a sweet crunchy condiment that reminds us of our time in Okinawa. 

Signup or follow my blog to get more Bites with Burger. 

