Since my two year old is obsessed with Studio Ghibli movies I decided that instead of trying to paint her a couple of character canvases I wanted to try something else.  I had seen on Etsy and elsewhere these really cool looking silhouettes of characters that were beautiful.  I started thinking about it and thought, why not try to make it myself.  

So the first thing I did was find silhoutte images of characters I wanted to put in her room and used my Silhoutte Cameo software and machine to cut out the image on thick card stock paper. 


Once the images were ready I cut them out with the Cameo. 


I then taped each image stencil to the canvas. I opted for a Totoro, from My Neighbor Totoro.


A falling Sheeta from Castle in the Sky.


A flying Kiki from Kiki’s Delivery Service.


And lastly Sophie and Howl from Howl’s Moving Castle.

Once they were ready I used water color paints and painted inside the stencils on each, using a variety of colors.


The last thing I did before letting them dry was to sprinkl on the paint some salt. I did both sea salt (coarse) and fine to see the end result. 


Adding the salt before letting it dry adds a “sparkly” quality to the painting.


I removed the stencils before letting them dry, to make sure they did not end up sticking to the canvas.


The last step for each, was to use a watered down brush and add a “watered” finish along the edges of the images. This also helped to dispel any leak through that may have occurred.


Once the canvases were dry, I used a sponge and brushed off the excess salt.


I was very happy with the end result of all four.

 

And my two year old loved having them hang above her crib. 


Have you tried using Water Color paints? If so leave a comment and share what you did. 

Sign up or follow my blog to continue Being Crafty. 

