So the last main element I needed for my two year olds Mae costume was a hat. Again I looked online, but I could not find what I wanted. I also checked stores, but had a hard time finding what I wanted. Instead I started looking around for what I could “modify” to make into the hat I needed. 

I lucked out and found a white sun hat on the clearance rack at Walmart.


I started by removing the black ribbon.


I then cut off the outer rim and made it smaller in size.


Next I took a lighter and gently singed the outside to keep the cut areas from fraying.


Next I took a wide rim red ribbon, and used hot glue all along the base of the hat to attach it.


The end result was a perfect match for the hat Mae wore in the My Neighbor Totoro movie. 


Stay tuned for next week’s blog post were I finally show you all the elements together for my daughter’s Mae costume/cosplay.

Signup or follow my blog to continue Being Crafty.

