I know it has been awhile since my last blog, and I apologize for that. I hope to post more new blogs, but in case it is a while again, please remember Life Happens and I promise the wait will be worth it. Now to the fun craft.

So a while ago I saw a cool idea for kid designed shoes with sharpies and rubbing alcohol. The different ones I had seen were a variety of “styles” and designs. Basically if you kid could imagine it on a shoe, then it could be done. Well that got me thinking, my girls love outer space, so why not limit their color options and make Galaxy shoes. I loved the idea, and once I had all the supplies I told the girls about it. They were thrilled and it turned a hot (114 degrees) Sunday into a fun crafting indoor day. To start with I bought cheap plain white lace up shoes from the store and used the rest of the supplies I already had. This is everything that I used:

– Plain white shoes

– Sharpie Markers in a variety of Blues, Purples, Pinks, and Grey

– Rubbing Alcohol in a spray bottle

– White acrylic paint

– thin paint brush (for acrylic) and wide paint brush (glue)

– Silver Glitter Glue

– Fabric Finishing Spray

I started by removing the shoe laces from each set of shoes, and having the girls use the sharpies to color all over them.

We made sure to fill in as much of the shoes with sharpie colors as possible so they would be nice and bright when sprayed.

Once the shoes were ready, we took them outside with the rubbing alcohol in the spray bottle. I used common rubbing alcohol. (Basically you want the markers to spread into each other – giving a water color effect.)

Next I made sure to spray each shoe completely making sure to not miss any part.

We let them dry completely (for us since it was so hot it only took about an hour, but it might take a little longer in more normal climates.)

Once they were dry we brought them back inside and used the white acrylic paint to strategically (basically where ever I felt like it) white dots all over the shoes. These would be the “stars.”

After the acrylic paint dried, I then took silver glitter glue and brushed it all over the outside and tongue of all 4 shoes.

I really think adding the glitter gave them more of the “out space” feel. The last step was to take the shoes back outside (I really didn’t think through how often I would end up outside during this craft) to spray the shoes with a fabric finishing spray. I have found Scotchguard to be pretty good for my other shoe creations.

My girls LOVED the end results and could not wait to wear them to school the very next day. They of course had tons of friends loving and wanting some for themselves.

Have you made similar shoes? If you have leave a comment and share what you did. I love seeing what all you have done and created.

Don’t forget to signup or follow my blog to get more fun future creative crafts. Until next time.